It’s all coming back to me now….

British Bits and Bobs

Look, I promise not to bleat on about the British weather, but it’s been messing with my head.

Saturday day time: glorious! I mean totes amazeballs, folks. Hooray, England looks beautiful, says young Harry. A beer and cider festival in the day was a very British affair in my parents’ very British village (straight out of a Joanna Trollope book!) but that sunshine made it special.

20150822_112544 20150822_114929 20150822_115024

Saturday night time: heading out for a bit of open air cinema in Cheltenham to support my friend’s market and blow me down, if the heavens didn’t open as soon as we set up to watch the movie (or ‘film’ as my chum kept reminding me it was called on these shores 😉 ).

And Sunday and today? More rain.

‘Is it autumn now in England?’ asks Harry.

‘It feels like bloody winter,’ says I.

That brolly is firmly at my side every step of the way!

British summer's evening!

British summer’s evening!

Listening to the radio

This is a refreshing and happy experience for me! Songs that probably were rarely, if ever, played on the US radio stations I listened to are literally like music to my ears: The Happy Mondays, New Order, and even Take That (no shame!). Although on Radio 2 everyone is always complaining about the state of affairs in the UK. Must stop listening to Jeremy Vine’s show – bunch of grumps who are too miserable for me! I’m Mrs Positive, innit!

Everything closes early

What’s a working man or woman to do after work? Not go and get a haircut or drop their suit off for dry cleaning or other jobs, that’s for sure – cos everything bloody closes at 5pm!

openingclosing

This I cannot get used to. The joy of late night everything in the USA compared to the day stopping completely here at 5pm. Someone who I might be married to grumbled that it was ‘like living in the 1970s’. Except I do not have flowers in my hair, which I would have had, had I been this age circa 1970-74 🙂 Just sayin’ in a totally non-relevant way.

Cheerio!

4 thoughts on “It’s all coming back to me now….

  1. I just looked over some of your other posts. It does not seem like the transition isn’t going to badly otherwise.

    But I know, once you get a taste of American convenience, it is hard to deal with British retail hours.

    You have M & S Simply Food now. I envy you.

    Like

  2. You know how I feel about the dark ages of store hours here in Vienna. Add to it the general mean-spirited nature of a certain Viennese demographic, and that t this place is continually rated a “most livable city” can only mean the whomever rated it such has never lived here. 😉

    But as a previous poster commented, you do have M&S. I have to cross the border for that.

    Like

  3. Ah, so you understand my experience. Flashback to 1988: Having to drive to the one open all-night petrol station 30 miles away at 2 a.m. for aspirin because I had a leg ache and couldn’t sleep.

    I listen to LBC during the day. Talk about moaning! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

